CHIWOS Study

Research has demonstrated that women face not only biological susceptibility to HIV, but also amplified vulnerability due to social factors such as poverty, marginalization, violence, and gender inequity. Women living with HIV have unique care needs, but frequently face inattention to their specific social circumstances and health needs, particularly those of a sexual, reproductive and mental health nature, and may experience diverse challenges in accessing care. While there is limited literature and research about how women use HIV/AIDS health and social services, these factors indicate that many women could benefit from women-specific services that would more fully address their unique needs in a supportive, inclusive, and accessible manner.

The Canadian HIV Women’s Sexual & Reproductive Health Cohort Study, or CHIWOS, was developed to address these issues, and is rolling out in Ontario, Quebec, and British Columbia, and has been initiated in Saskatchewan and Manitoba. Affiliated with CANOC, this prospective cohort study operates within community based research and GIPA (greater involvement of people with HIV/AIDS) approaches, prioritizing the leadership, and valuing the experiences, of the diverse women who are themselves living with HIV. CHIWOS is further guided by a Critical Feminist framework and a continuous analysis of the Social Determinants of Health over a woman’s lifespan, and seeks to put its research into action in order to further social change and justice and to improve lives and care for women living with HIV in Canada. This research and approach aims to further social change for all women living with HIV around the world. The overall study aims to:

  • Assess the proportion, distribution and patterns of use and uptake of women-centred HIV care, and factors associated with service uptake among women living with HIV in Canada. 
  • Estimate the effect of women-centred HIV care uptake on the overall HIV, women’s, mental and sexual and reproductive health outcomes of women living with HIV in Canada.

CHIWOS has brought together a national, multi-disciplinary research team, drawing expertise and experience from various fields and areas of the country. Mona Loutfy, Alexandra de Pokomandy, and Angela Kaida, the principal investigators, are leading the Core Research Team. New principal investigators include Carrie Bourassa, Marissa Becker, Sharon Bruce, and Saara Greene. Advised by the National Steering Committee and by three provincial Community Advisory Boards (CABs), supported by administrative staff and provincial coordinators, and implemented by community Peer Research Associates (PRAs), the study brings in a rich diversity of perspectives and specialties. CHIWOS is being run through and is supported by the Women’s College Research Institute, Simon Fraser University, McGill University Health Centre, Women’s Health in Women’s Hands, the British Columbia Centre for Excellence in HIV/AIDS, the University of British Columbia, and Providence Health Care. The study is funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the Ontario HIV Treatment Network (OHTN) and supported by CIHR Canadian HIV Trials Network (CTN 262).

1) Formative Phase

Before the usage and impact of ‘women-centred HIV care’ could be assessed, CHIWOS must determine how women living with HIV define and envision how this care would be delivered (Loutfy et al., 2016).

Also, two sets of focus groups were conducted as part of this initial phase: 1) one to determine community definitions and perceptions of women-centred HIV care, and 2) to collect feedback and input on the preliminary survey instrument before it is employed on a larger scale (Abelsohn et al., 2015). 

2) National Survey Phase

The plan for the cohort was to recruit and enroll 1250 women living with HIV in the three study provinces. Participants completed a PRA-administered survey at baseline and two years, with a phone call and brief survey at one year to ensure continuity of contact. By the end of this first study wave (October 2013 to May 2015), a total of 1425 participants were enrolled. A subsequent wave (Wave 2) began in September 2015 and ended in January 2017; participants were re-contacted and completed the PRA-administered survey, which incorporated some additional topics. CHIWOS is currently in Wave 3 (March 2017 to September 2018).  This study will yield critical information which will help to fill knowledge gaps about women, HIV, and HIV care, and will enable improvements in the health, care, and wellbeing of women living with HIV in Canada.

L’étude CHIWOS

Contexte et motivation

La recherche a démontré que les femmes font non seulement face à une susceptibilité biologique au VIH, mais aussi à une vulnérabilité accrue en raison de facteurs sociaux comme la pauvreté, la marginalisation, la violence et l’inégalité des sexes. Les femmes vivant avec le VIH nécessitent des soins uniques, mais sont souvent confrontées à un manque d’attention à leurs circonstances sociales spécifiques, en particulier en ce qui a trait à leur santé sexuelle, reproductive et mentale, et pourraient éprouver diverses difficultés à accéder aux soins sociaux et médicaux. Bien qu’il y ait peu de documentation et de recherche sur la façon dont les femmes utilisent les services de santé et les services sociaux spécifiques au VIH/SIDA, ces documents indiquent que de nombreuses femmes pourraient bénéficier de services spécifiques aux femmes qui répondraient plus pleinement à leurs besoins uniques, et ce, d’une manière inclusive et accessible.

Principes et objectifs d’étude

L’étude sur la santé sexuelle et reproductive des femmes vivant avec le VIH (FVVIH) au Canada, ou CHIWOS, a été développée pour répondre à ces problèmes, et se déroulera au Québec, en Ontario et en Colombie-Britannique. Affiliée à CANOC, cette étude de cohorte prospective s’appuie sur les principes de recherche communautaire et s’engage à la participation accrue des personnes vivant avec le VIH/SIDA (GIPA). Ces approches valorisent et donnent priorité aux diverses expériences des femmes qui vivent elles-mêmes avec le VIH. CHIWOS est ancrée dans un cadre féministe critique et est guidée par l’analyse des déterminants sociaux de la santé au cours du cycle de vie. De plus, l’étude vise à mettre ses recherches en action dans le but d’entraîner des changements sociaux et de justice importants, ainsi que d’améliorer les vies et les soins pour les femmes vivant avec le VIH au Canada et à l’étranger. Globalement l`étude vise à :

  • Évaluer la proportion, la distribution et les modes d’utilisation des services liés au VIH/SIDA spécifiques aux femmes ainsi que les facteurs associés à l’utilisation des services parmi les FVVIH au Canada.
  • Estimer l’effet de l’utilisation des services VIH/SIDA spécifiques aux femmes sur la santé sexuelle, reproductive et mentale ainsi que l’effet de ces services sur le dépistage parmi les FVVIH au Canada.

L’équipe de recherche

L’équipe de recherche CHIWOS consiste en un groupe national et multidisciplinaire qui rassemble l’expertise et l’expérience d’intervenants provenant de divers domaines et régions du Canada. Mona Loutfy, Alexandra de Pokomandy, Bob Hogg, et Angela Kaida, les chercheurs principaux, dirigent l’équipe de recherche principale. Conseillée par le comité directeur national et par trois comités consultatifs communautaires de chaque province, soutenue par le personnel administratif et les coordonnateurs provinciaux, et mise en œuvre par des pairs comme assistants de recherche (femmes vivant avec le VIH), l’équipe rassemble une riche diversité de perspectives et de spécialités. CHIWOS est gérée et soutenue par le Women’s College Research Institute, Simon Fraser University, Women’s Health in Women’s Hands, British Columbia Centre for Excellence in HIV/AIDS, University of British Columbia, Providence Health Care et le Centre Universitaire de Santé McGill. L’étude est financée par les instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), l’Ontario HIV Treatment Network (OHTN) et par le Réseau Canadien pour les essais (CTN 262).

Phases de la recherche

1) La phase formative

Avant d’évaluer l’utilisation et l’impact des « services VIH/SIDA spécifiques aux femmes », l’étude CHIWOS doit déterminer comment les femmes vivant avec le VIH définissent et envisagent ces services (Loutfy et al., 2016).

Deux séries de groupes de discussion ont été menées dans le cadre de cette phase initiale : 1) la première visant à définir et à comprendre les perceptions de la communauté envers les services VIH/SIDA spécifiques aux femmes, et 2) la deuxième visant à recueillir les réactions et les commentaires sur l’instrument d’enquête préliminaire avant son utilisation à grande échelle (Abelsohn et al., 2015).

2) La phase d`enquête nationale

Le plan pour la cohorte était de recruter et d’inscrire 1250 femmes vivant avec le VIH des trois provinces à l’étude. Un total de 1422 femmes vivant avec le VIH ont complété un questionnaire de référence administré par les paires (Octobre 2013 à Mai 2015). Une vague subséquente (Vague 2) a débuté en Septembre 2015 et s’est terminée en Janvier 2017; 1252 participantes ont complété le second questionnaire administré par les paires, lequel incluait quelques sujets de recherche additionnels. La vague 3 de CHIWOS est en cours (Mars 2017 à Septembre 2018). Cette étude générera des informations critiques qui aideront à combler les écarts de connaissances sur les femmes, le VIH et les soins VIH, et permettront l’amélioration du bien-être, de la santé et des soins portés aux femmes vivant avec le VIH au Canada.